NABH (5 th Edition)

NABH (5 th Edition)

NABH Accreditation


more info

NABH Accreditation (5th Edition)

NABH, which is a Constituent Board of Quality Council of India, was set up in 2006 with the mandate of establishing and operating accreditation programmes for healthcare organizations. NABH is linked internationally and is an institutional as well as a board member of the International Society for Quality in Health Care (lSQua). It is also a member of the Accreditation Council of ISQua.

NABH program was started with an intent to improve healthcare quality and patient safety at public and private hospitals, has subsequently grown to greater heights, with the standards being recognized internationally at par with other global healthcare accreditation standards and accredited by ISQua (International Society for Quality Assurance in Healthcare). The accreditation standards for hospitals focuses on patient safety and quality of the delivery of services by the hospitals in a changing healthcare environment.

SHCO Accreditation Program

The accreditation program for Small Healthcare Organizations (SHCO) was started in the year 2010 with the aim to ensure quality and patient safety to the hospitals with upto 50 beds and that are in possession of supportive and utility facilities that are appropriate and relevant to the services being provided by the organization.

Benefits of Accreditation
a) Patients are the biggest beneficiary as implementation of accreditation standards ensures Patient safety, commitment to quality care resulting in good clinical outcomes.
b) Improves patient satisfaction and increases community confidence as services are provided by credentialed medical staff.
c) Accreditation status provides good marketing advantage in the competitive healthcare.
d) The HCO standards has been accredited by ISQua giving the accreditation an international recognition which will boost medical tourism
e) Accreditation provides an objective system of empanelment by insurance and other third parties

NABH formulates its own standards for accreditation of all types of healthcare organisations and over the years, successive NABH standards have brought about a significant change in the approach taken by the healthcare organisations in managing and delivering safe healthcare services to the patients. NABH standards have been instrumental in ensuring quality care to the beneficiaries and empanelled hospitals under Ayushman Bharat-PMJAY which is a flagship scheme of Government of India to cater to 50 crore poor and vulnerable citizens of India. As a part of the continual quality improvement, 5th edition of hospital standards have been developed by NABH in consultation with various stakeholders in the healthcare industry. The changes brought in the new edition will help the healthcare organizations in stepwise progression to mature quality system covering the full accreditation cycle. Aligning with SDG-3 (Good Health and Wellbeing) target 2030, the new edition of NABH standards focus on achieving health and wellbeing by strengthening treatment, access to healthcare and addressing emerging health

Who can apply?
a)Healthcare organization (HCO) that fulfills the following requirements:
b)Currently in operation as a healthcare provider, should be above 50 beds as hospitals below 50 beds will come under SHCO standards.
c)The organization that commits to comply with NABH standards and applicable