Entry level NABH

Entry level NABH

NABH Accreditation


more info


Any hospital above 50 beds will come under HCO category. The entry level HCO standards have 10 chapters 45 standards & 167 objective elements. Any hospital with less than 50 beds will come under SHCO category. The entry level SHCO standards have 10 Chapters 41 standards and 149 objective elements.

HOPE - Healthcare Organizations Platform for Entry Level Certification
a)Revamped portal for entry level certification process of Hospitals and Small Healthcare Organizations.
b)Includes registration, documentation and fee submission to be carried out on HOPE web portal and a parallely developed mobile application.
c)Multifarious platform for certification process of healthcare organizations.
d)Holds complete information about the simplified certification process, requirements and compliances It encompasses relevant & comprehensive quality assurance standards for Healthcare Organizations and Small Healthcare Organizations. These are in natural alignment to the Hospital Standards, with a legal/statutory/regulatory requirement. d) These standards are to be used by the whole organisation and not for a specific service within the organisation. Organisations may have different services and it is equally applicable to all services and in both public and private hospitals
  • In order to extend benefits associated with Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (Irdai) and Ayushman Bharat scheme to small scale hospitals across India, the government has digitalized and simplified the National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare Organizations (NABH) accreditation process.
  • The NABH, a constituent body of Quality Council of India (QCI), handling global accreditation in Indian healthcare sector under ministry of commerce and industry has revamped the entry-level certification process to make it simpler, digital, faster and user-friendly.
  • The revised process is driven through a new portal called HOPE - Healthcare Organizations’ Platform for entry-level-certification with a focus to promote quality at nascent stages by enrolling a wide range of hospitals across the country including healthcare organizations (HCOs) and small healthcare organizations (SHCOs).
  • “The aim is to create a momentum for HCOs and SHCOs that want to avail benefits associated with IRDAI and Ayushman Bharat by getting themselves NABH certified along with the primary aim of creating a quality healthcare ecosystem in India,"
  • “The idea of cashless payment to patients under insurance coverage has been promoted by IRDAI to reduce financial burden on households. The Irdai has mandated hospitals to ensure a quality healthcare ecosystem through NABH Entry-Level Certification Process,"
  • Billed as the world’s largest health assurance scheme, Ayushman Bharart, aims to provide free health insurance of ₹5 lakh per family to nearly 40% of the population—more than 100 million poor and vulnerable families based on socio economic caste census (SECC).
  • “Universal and affordable health services in Ayushman Bharat are possible through hospitals that have quality health care facilities. More and more hospitals now want to be a part of the scheme. Also, NABH accredited hospital have more benefits over non accredited hospitals,"
  • HOPE is not just confined to certification of HCOs/SHCOs but also enables them to comply with quality protocols, improve patient safety and the overall healthcare facility of the organization. The online platform provides smooth and secure registration and a self-explanatory questionnaire to be filled by the HCO/SHCOs. A mobile application has also been developed to support HCO/SHCOs for directly uploading geo-tagged and time stamped evidences required for compliance to the standards.
  • “It has also changed the assessment process which is now carried out on a technology based application where the data is captured and validated on a real-time basis,"
  • NABH has been working to ensure reliability, efficiency and global accreditation in Indian healthcare sector using contemporary methodologies and tools, standards of patient safety and infection control. NABH accreditation provides assurance of quality and care in hospitals at par with international benchmarks. NABH has designed an exhaustive healthcare standards for hospitals and healthcare providers that have been accredited by International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQUA) the apex international accreditation body.
  • In order to support maximum HCO/SHCOs in the country, QCI and NABH have partnered with several organizations like, Indian Medical Association (IMA), Patient Safety and Access Initiative of India Foundation (PSAIIF), Consortium of Accredited Healthcare Organizations (CAHO) and other stakeholders for spreading awareness about the process, the ministry statement said.

  • Benefits of Certification
  • a) Improved level of community confidence and trust
    b) Quality And Patient Safety Into Focus
    c) Roadmap for standardization
    d) Patient centered culture
    e) Systems oriented approach
    f) Improved patient satisfaction levels
    g) Improved healthcare outcomes
    h) External recognition
    i) Empanelment by insurance agencies